Waiting on Wednesday: The Other Einstein

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Photo Credit: Amazon


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. This week I am excited to feature a book that looks stunning. I love the cover and the idea behind the story. I cannot wait to get my hands on this one!

The Other Einstein
Author: Marie Benedict
Release Date: October 18, 2016

Details from Amazon:
In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage. 

There are so many good books coming out in October! Can't Wait!

Happy Reading! 

The Time I Almost Met Emily Giffin

Tuesday, August 23, 2016




Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by with a few pictures in light of a regular post today. Last month I was supposed to go see Emily Giffin, one of my favorite authors speak. Unfortunately, I had tickets but had a change at the last minute and was not able to make it. I contacted the publisher and they thankfully still were willing to send me a signed book, since I had paid for it with my ticket! Yay! Thank You --Random House! That arrived in the mail yesterday, so I wanted to share a picture with you all.

This is a copy of her new book, First Comes Love. I haven't read it yet, but I am excited to.

For those of you don't know what it is about, here are the details from Amazon:
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

A pair of sisters find themselves at a crossroads in this dazzling new novel from the author of Something Borrowed, Where We Belong, and The One & Only. First Comes Love is a story about family, friendship, and the courage to follow your own heart—wherever that may lead.

Growing up, Josie and Meredith Garland shared a loving, if sometimes contentious, relationship. Josie was impulsive, spirited, and outgoing, Meredith hardworking, thoughtful, and reserved. When tragedy strikes, their delicate bond splinters.

Fifteen years later, Josie and Meredith are in their late thirties, following very different paths. Josie, a first grade teacher, is single—and this close to swearing off dating for good. What she wants more than the right guy, however, is to become a mother—a feeling that is heightened when her ex-boyfriend’s daughter is assigned to her class. Determined to have the future she’s always wanted, Josie decides to take matters into her own hands.

On the outside, Meredith is the model daughter with the perfect life. A successful attorney, she’s married to a wonderful man, and together they’re raising a beautiful four-year-old daughter. Yet lately Meredith feels dissatisfied and restless, secretly wondering if she chose the life that was expected of her rather than the one she truly desired.

As the anniversary of their tragedy looms, and painful secrets from the past begin to surface, Josie and Meredith must not only confront the issues that divide them but also come to terms with their own choices. In their journey toward understanding and forgiveness, both sisters discover that they need each other more than they knew—and that in the search for true happiness, love always comes first.


Have you read it? What did you think? No spoilers please! I am looking forward to getting to this one.

Happy Reading!

#VASRP Mini-Challenge Nine

Monday, August 22, 2016


The ninth mini-challenge for the #VASRP is here!

We have been so grateful for such an awesome group of readers this summer! We want to say thank you to each of you and encourage you to thank those people who have made you a reader!

The Challenge: Gratitude

Has someone made a difference to you as a reader?
Have a favorite author you can’t get enough of?
Show us how you say thank you!

Don’t forget to share using the #VASRP hashtag!

#SBPT Wrap Up

Sunday, August 21, 2016


Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by to wrap up the summer of posts as part of the Summer Blog Promo Tour! I had alot of fun posting on the others' blogs and having them post here! I hope that you enjoyed it too! It is nice to mix things up now again! :)







 So just wanted to take a minute to say thanks for all you that made it happen! I am glad that I got to meet some new people, check out some new blogs, and I look forward to the future! :)

Thanks again!
-Valerie

#ReadThemAllThon Review: Fuschia City

Saturday, August 20, 2016




Hi Everyone! 

Just stopping with my second review for the #ReadThemAllThon Readathon. For the second gym, I have read the book "Open Road Summer' by Emery Lord. I believe that with finishing this book, I should be at +20 for taking the gym, +20 for the review. +36 for pages read (this book is 368) long, and +2 for the tweet, I will send after I post this. (My first tweet and the one I will post as soon as this is live!) So I think Nidoran (female) was at 87 CP and would now be at 165. Nidoran (female) evolves at 150.

Which means she has evolved to Nidorina!! Check out how cute she is! :)

  
Photo Credit


Open Road Summer
Emery Lord


In this book, we are greeted by Lilah (Dee), the country music star and her best friend Reagan. When they hit the road for a tour and summer on the road, a lot happens. They are soon joined by Matt, another star.  This book is about friendship, some romance, and what it means to look out for one another.

The reason I liked this book the most was because of the writing style. I enjoy Emery Lord’s books very much and she writes in a way that makes you want to keep reading to know what will happen next. Her stories within the story are amusing and heartwarming. I appreciate that.

The characters in the book had unique personalities. I am not sure that I always liked them as characters, but I understand why they were being the written that way. The setting of the book, involving both exploration and country music was something that appealed to me. I enjoyed the overall story of the book and am glad that it ended this way.

If you are looking for a book that is about country music or a contemporary romance, this may be the book for you.  


**********************
Have you read this book? Did you enjoy it? I love Emery Lord's writing and I cannot wait for her next book to get here! 

Happy Reading!

BoutofBooks Readathon

Friday, August 19, 2016




Hi Everyone!
Just stopping by to let you know that Bout of Books Readathon is kicking off again on August 22nd. This is my 3rd time participating in this particular readathon and I always have so much fun, so I hope you will participate too! 


The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @OnaBook Bender and Kelly @ReadingtheParanormal. It is a weeklong read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team


I will post my progress here:
 


 Monday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Tuesday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Wednesday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Thursday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Friday. -Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Saturday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:

Sunday.
-Pages read:
-Total number of books read:
  
I am hoping to do some of the other challenges throughout the week as well. I will be doing separate posts for those!
 
Happy Reading!
 
FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATE BY DESIGNER BLOGS