November Rewind

Sunday, December 4, 2016

 

Hi Everyone,

Happy November wrap up! I hope that you had a wonderful month. I am happy to report that I finished 11 books this month.

I won’t link to the reviews directly, but if you head over to the side of my blog you can sort my posts by month.

Specifically, I read:
8 Books for Review
2 Library Books
1 Book I Own

They fell into the following groupings for my Challenges:
I love Libraries-2 Books
Mt. TBR-1 Book
#RockmyTBR-1 Book


Highlight of the month included:
 -Wrapping the Gilmore Girls Readathon that I am hosting!

I have to say, it turned out to be another busy month! But so much fun :)   I hope that you had a successful month of reading! What’s in your que for December?

Happy Reading!

Winter 2016 Bookish Bingo

Saturday, December 3, 2016


Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by with another fun reading challenge hosted by Bekka at Pretty Deadly Reviews. This is the card of books that you need to read for winter. The link will give you all of the details on how to participate.

I will track my progress here:

(TBD)


Will you be joining in?

Happy Reading!

#AMonthofFaves2016

Friday, December 2, 2016



Hi Everyone!

Estella's Revenge, along with Tanya Patrice and Tamara are hosting a fun event called #AMonthofFaves2016 in which they celebrate December with some of their favorite things. Today's prompt is to share...

5 Popular Books Worth The Hype!

So mine are here...
1) The Diary of Anne Frank
2) The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a $%*)
3) The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
4) The Happiness Project
5) LumberJanes

I adore these books! What would make your list?

Happy Reading!

#DiversityDecBingo Reading Challenge

Thursday, December 1, 2016



Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by with a post to let you know about the Diversity December Bingo Readathon! This event is looking to be a great one and I wanted to share with you about it.  When you talk about it please share the hashtag #DiversityDecBingo.


Happy Reading!

Waiting on Wednesday: The Education of Will

Wednesday, November 30, 2016


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. This week I am excited to feature a book that I think looks really cute :)

The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog
Author: Pat McConnell
Release Date: Feb. 21st, 2017


Information from Goodreads:
In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs—with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth.

Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough.

Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.


Have you heard about this one?

Happy Reading!

Top Ten Tuesday: Holiday Gift Guide

Tuesday, November 29, 2016



Hi Everyone! 

Just stopping by with another Top Ten Tuesday!  This week's topic is Top Ten Tuesday is about creating a holiday gift guide.  Here are a few things that I have had my eye on, so I hope that it may inspire you for ideas for others as well!

For those who love Harry Potter:
1) Harry Potter House Collection-I know these are expensive, but look how beautiful they are! (I especially love the Hufflepuff ones!)



2) Harry Potter Pocket Pops-I love these! So far I have Lord Voldermot, Newt, and Niffler. I would love to get the two Harry's and Hermione. 



3) Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them Screenplay-The movie was great! I am excited to see what this one entails. 



5) Hiking Through: One Man's Journey to Peace and Freedom on the Appalachian Trail 
What are you looking forward to this year? 

(Photo Credit: Amazon for the images shared here today)

Happy shopping and reading!

Book Review: Radar Road

Monday, November 28, 2016



Author: Nath Jones
 
Summary from Amazon:
Radar Road: the Best of On Impulse highlights an exploration of twenty-first century narrative. In four collections that move from raw to refined, the On Impulse series invites the reader to contemplate how we use language now: online, in full-length books, and with each other. Morgan Kiger arranged this fifth collection to stand on its own while showcasing the series's original trajectory from catharsis to craft.

Personal Review:Have you ever felt that you had a story inside of you waiting to get out? This book does exactly that, it tells the stories of those who need to let it out. In each scenario, we are presented with a clear view on what it means for the characters to have their voices heard.

Each story is compelling. At times the stories wrap up, leaving you wanting more. It's a bit like life when you want more, but sometimes it doesn't always come.

This book was different from my regular reads, but I enjoyed it. Thank you for the opportunity.

 Disclaimer: I was awarded this book from the author. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.

Happy Reading!
 
FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATE BY DESIGNER BLOGS