Book Review: Class of 59

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Author: John Heldt
Personal Review:
A few months ago, I was offered the opportunity to review a couple of John Heldt's books. I enjoyed them, so when he reached out one more time I decided to review one of the new ones: Class of 59. This is 4th book in the American Journey series.

In this book, we meet 4 individuals who are interconnected through time travel and adventure. The book is one that takes you back and forth throughout the experiences in a seamless way that leaves it easy to follow and interesting to understand.

The thing I like most about this book was the pictures that the author creates for each scene. When you read the passages, you are quick taken to those places and it is easy to imagine. I imagine this book would be liked by those who enjoy Indiana Jones, or time travel books.

Thanks for the opportunity to read this book.

Disclaimer: I was awarded this book from the author. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.
Happy Reading!

Book Review and Giveaway: Pushing Perfect

Friday, October 21, 2016

Hi Everyone!

I am really excited to be here with you today to discuss a new book: Pushing Perfect. In this book, we meet Kara who has always been 'perfect.' When her life gets beyond her control and things start to get a little bit crazy, the story really gets going. This is a book that kept me reading and wanting to know what would happen next.

I liked this story because the characters were interesting and it did not go exactly how I thought it would. It was an interesting plot and an interesting read.

If you enjoy a book that has good YA feel that is different (in a good way), I recommend this book for you. Thanks for the opportunity to read! More information below if you want to pick it up! 

Happy Reading!

A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this layered, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead.

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. She gets perfect grades. She never messes up. Until now. Because perfection is an illusion, and Kara has been struggling to maintain it for as long as she can remember. With so much pressure to succeed, it’s hard not to do whatever it takes. 

But when Kara takes a new underground drug to help her ace the SATs, she doesn’t expect to get a text from a blocked sender, telling her to follow a set of mysterious instructions—or risk her dark secret getting out. Soon she finds herself part of a group of teens with secrets of their own, who are all under the thumb of the same anonymous texter. And if they don’t find a way to stop the blackmailer, their perfect futures will go up in flames.

This dark, emotionally resonant contemporary YA novel is perfect for fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History.

LINKS: Amazon | B&N

Michelle Falkoff's fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVADoubleTake and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and currently serves as Director of Communication and Legal Reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:

3 Finished Copies of PUSHING PERFECT (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Guest Post: Not My Life

Thursday, October 20, 2016

 Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by with a guest post. When Kathy and Bob reached out to me about their upcoming book, I said that I would share some information here. Kathy provided me the guest post below to share with us some thoughts on why they write what they do. Thanks for coming by the blog today!



By Kathy Clark (writing as Bob Kat for our YA Books)

WIN a beautiful heart-shaped shell necklace.  Details at the end of this post.

NOT MY LIFE, the 5th book in the Time Shifters YA time travel/romance/mystery series will be released on October 18th.  Nothing is as it seems and everyone has a story that needs to be heard.  Our teens travel back to either vindicate or convict their old friend, Dan Denucci.  But the man with a medical degree, a beautiful wife, and a young son is very different from the sad, homeless guy who lives under the pier on Fort Myers Beach, FL.  Who is the real Dan and what did he do to lose everything?

Of all the concepts (or tropes), I think time travel would be the most amazing adventure.  You can have the trips to Mars or an excursion down to the Titanic.  Give me a trip to the late 1800s any day to see what the Old West was really like.  Or the early 1800s in Ireland before my family left to come to the U.S.  Or even back to the 1960s just because I love the Beatles.  The hardest part of the trip would be deciding where and when to go first.

Where would you go if you could travel back in time?  Who would you want to meet?  What historical event would you like to witness?  What era’s pop culture, fashion and music would you like to experience? 

That was the idea that sparked our Young Adult series TIME SHIFTERS.  How would it be for four teenagers to be able to go back and see how average people lived, and, along the way, experience the feelings and textures of different times and places?  What kind of challenge would it be for them to do without things they thought they couldn’t live without while having to deal with issues (such as no electricity, different currency, and child labor) that they’ve never thought about?

Bob and I have had over forty books published (as Kathy Clark and as Bob Kat), but most were written for adults…about adults.  Writing a YA presented new outlooks on everything from friendship to romance to problem solving.  Obviously, a sixteen-year-old is going to react differently to almost everything than an adult would.

And even though dragons and witches and vampires are very popular, we wanted our teens to be real.  No magic spells or mythical creatures save them.  Instead, they have to deal with their issues using only their own ingenuity, creativity, and the friendship they share.  Plus, we wanted our young readers to “accidentally” learn a little about history and what was normal back then as compared to now.

My favorite books when I was growing up were Trixie Beldon and Nancy Drew mysteries, as well as Agatha Christie and Mary Stewart.  We wanted our teenagers to be 21st Century versions of the very interesting and intelligent characters from those famous novels. 

Having never written a book with lead characters under the age of twenty-one, we were a little nervous about capturing the innocence, insecurities, and youthful logic of teenagers.  But the four characters we created became so real to us that we easily slipped into their heads and their hearts.  Their vulnerabilities and dreams are so pure and yet heart-breaking as they discover the cruelties of the real world.

Bob and I plot the books together, usually sitting outside on our deck.  He then writes the first draft, and I add all of the color (clothing, scenery, hair, etc.), personalities, romance, and polish.  We have totally different writing schedules.  He’s up early and fills about three to five pages before I ever get up.  I’m a night-writer and don’t even start until around ten p.m., then go to bed around two or three a.m.  I like to let my subconscious mind take over, so I always have the TV on for background noise.  I don’t think I could write a coherent sentence if it was quiet or before noon.  I heard that Mozart’s wife would read to him while he was composing his brilliant music because the words would occupy his left brain so his right brain could create.  

Basically, this series allows Bob and me to do a little time travelling, too, as we go back to the memories of our own teenage years and hang out with our four new friends, Kelly, Austin, Scott, and Zoey as they learn how to love and live and survive in a world that’s not always kind.

Come along.  Whether you’re twelve or ninety-two, you’ll enjoy the trip. 

Visit us at our website or write us at  We would love to hear where and when you think our teenagers should travel to in the next book.  Reviews are always appreciated.

Bob Kat loves to hear from their fans.  Write us at and tell us where you’d like to have Kelly, Scott, Austin and Zoey travel to next.

To celebrate the launch of NOT MY LIFE, we’re giving away a very special heart-shaped mother-of-pearl shell necklace.  (The photo doesn’t do it justice.)  It is 18” long.  All you have to do is send us an email at with your name, email address, and the words SHELL NECKLACE.  You will be entered into the drawing that will be held on December 1, 2016.  The winner will be notified by email.  



Long ago and far away (in Alvin, Texas) Kathy Clark began her career writing and performing plays for the neighborhood kids.  She charged a nickel, but the attendees got a free bottle of ice cold Coke along with their entertainment.  Flash forward a few years and Kathy Clark still loves telling stories. 

She started writing solo for such publishers as Harlequin and Dell.  In 1993, she met and married her prince charming, and after his career as a business executive, he became her co-writer.   Together they have had fourteen books published, bringing her total to thirty-seven.  Their books are about real people caught up in unexpected and extraordinary circumstances, and just happen to fall in love in the process…just like Kathy and Bob did!

They write adult romance and romantic suspense under the pen name Kathy Clark and YA romance/time travel/mysteries under the pen name of Bob Kat. 

They currently live in Colorado Springs near their five sons.  When they’re not plotting their next book on what they call their Authors’ Deck with a glass of wine, they love to travel to far-away places…always together.

NOT MY LIFE is #5 in the Time Shifters YA romance/time travel/mystery series.  The first four books have won numerous Readers’ Favorite and other awards. 

Our latest adult romantic suspense series, Austin Heroes had book #2 ALMOST FOREVER released in July and book #3 ANOTHER CHANCE to be released in November.  We are currently working on a new adult romance series called Breathless that is set in Cripple Creek, Colorado.

We love to hear from our readers and encourage everyone to leave reviews.  Add your name to our newsletter at  and receive updates on our books, household hints, recipes, and contests. 


Twitter:       @93NightWriter

Link to purchase NOT MY LIFE on Amazon:
Link to purchase ANOTHER CHANCE on Amazon:  http://